Friday, 17 March 2017

Dippool Win Boyd Senior Open League 2016 - 17

The team of Skip Jim Sandilands, 3rd Billy Somerville, 2nd John Tough and Lead Eric Warren won the Boyd Senior Open League on Wednesday 15 March 2017.
The trophy was presented by Jimmy Raeburn, Chairman of Lanarkshire Ice Rink

The Semi Final was finally decided in the 9th end! If you are wondering whether the Dippool rink enjoyed the experience - take a wee look at the presentation picture above!

Both the Semi Final against Wishaw and the Final against Avondale Heather "2" were close and extremely hard fought matches - see results below. 

Saturday, 25 February 2017

Somerville Trophy - Christmas Bonspiel 12 Dec 2016

The winners of the Somerville Trophy this year were Billy Somerville, Elma Walker, Janis Hotchkiss and Mark Weir.

A fine festive time was had by all.

Thursday, 2 February 2017

Mossplat trophy 2017

The Mossplat trophy once again provided an excellent evening of curling and fellowship between the Carstairs and Dippool Clubs
Dippool won the competition by 2 games to 1, President Netta Merry is pictured receiving the trophy from Bob Thomson after the meal.

The rinks were as follows Dippool1 P Marsh,E Hotchkiss, J Hotchkiss and A Marsh V Carstairs 1 K Wilson, J Wilson,J Dearie and K Lake/P Lake.

Dippool 2 I Frame,G Walker,T Peat and P Gilchrist V  Carstairs 2 R ? (can anyone supply the names for the Carstairs team? Thank you, Eric Warren)

Dippool 3 N Merry, D Walker, E Walker and I Orr V Carstairs 3 R Thomson W Barr, V Anderson and T Munro

Tuesday, 25 October 2016

Biggar and Upper Clydesdale Bonspiel Winners 20 Oct 2016

Dippool's two rinks were winners of the above bonspiel.

Skip Jim Sandilands,3rd John Tough, 2nd Philip Marsh (not in photo) lead Eric Warren
Skip Netta Merry 3rd Graham Walker (not in photo) 2nd Drew Walker Lead Iain Orr

All of the players were delighted with the win, including John Tough. Unfortunately John had lost a tooth and was therefore unable to express his true feelings.

Tuesday, 18 October 2016

Opening Bonspiel 3rd October 2016

The opening bonspiel was keenly contested and enjoyed by all who took part.
The Acacia Trophy was presented by Club President Netta Merry to the winners who are pictured below.
Skip Wallace Somerville, 3rd Christine Warren, 2nd Vera Anderson and Lead Mhairi Thomson

We look forward to another action filled year!

Tuesday, 8 March 2016

.West of Scotland Division B Winners SEASON 2015 – 16

This season’s competition was won by the Dippool Rink  of Bill Moffat, Jim Sandilands, Philip Marsh and Eric Warren with Drew Walker and Wallace Somerville as substitutes.

Saturday, 6 February 2016

Elder Trophy 2015 - 16

This year's competition followed a new format when on the evening of Friday 5 February  3 rinks from Dippool CC played invitation rinks from Carstairs CC, South Lanarkshire Wheelchair CC and a combined team from Douglas CC and Upperward Ladies CC (who were last year's winners). 
The winners were Dippool CC - Skip Jim Sandilands, 3rd Billy Somerville, second Morag Sandilands and Lead Ian Orr.
Vice President Netta Merry presented the trophy.
Runners up were Dippool CC - Skip Ian Frame, 3rd Netta Merry, 2nd Christine Warren and lead Eric Warren.
The competition was very keen and very friendly, the after match buffet provided by the Ice Rink caterers was excellent, and the banter was magic.
Our thanks go to our guests and to everyone who made the evening so enjoyable - especially our Secretary Liz Moffat for all her hard work in arranging the event.